TCM Group Home


On behalf of the organizing committee, it is our honor to invite you to attend the 9th International Conference on Highly Frustrated Magnetism 2018 (HFM 2018) which will be held at the University of California, Davis campus, in Davis, California from the 9th to the 14th of July, 2018. It will also serve as a satellite to the International conference on Magnetism ICM 2018 (July 15 to July 20) in San Francisco, California, allowing participants to coordinate travel to both meetings (if they wish).

This international conference will be a great opportunity for scientists from around the world to share the most recent developments in the study of frustrated magnetism. It will feature presentations reporting on experimental and theoretical studies of magnetic frustration, in all of its manifestations.

This conference follows in the series of HFM 2016 (Taipei, Taiwan), HFM 2014 (Cambridge, UK), HFM 2012 (Hamilton, Canada), HFM 2010 (Baltimore, USA), HFM 2008 (Braunschweig, Germany), HFM 2006 (Osaka, Japan), HFM 2003 (Grenoble, France) and HFM 2000 (Waterloo, Canada).

University of California, Davis campus is located in Davis, California about 15 miles from Sacramento International Airport and about 90 miles from the San Francisco International Airport. Davis is a college town. Besides Sacramento and the San Francisco Bay area, it is also close to the wine country (Napa Valley) in Northern California and not far from major natural resorts at Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park.

We look forward to seeing you in Davis in 2018.

Abstract submission click below:

Download examples: Oral_example.tex Poster_example.tex

List of topics

  • Kitaev Quantum Spin Liquids
  • Two dimensional frustrated systems
  • Pyrochlore/Spin Ice systems
  • Emerging Topics

Registration fee

  • $450 for general and $150 for students (before deadline date )
  • $550 for general and $200 for students (after some date )

Housing options

  • UCD Dorms $89 per day (includes 3 meals)
  • Hotels ranging from $129-$161 per day
  • We will try to cover partial local costs for invited speakers and possibly junior participants at levels to be determined

Email contact:



Program Committee
  • James Analytis, co-chair
  • Natalia Perkins, co-chair
  • Leon Balents
  • Michel Gingras
  • Frederic Mila
  • Satoru Nakatsuji
  • Kate Ross
Organizing Committee
  • James Analytis
  • Leon Balents
  • Michel Gingras
  • Kate Ross
  • Rajiv Singh (Chair)
confirmed invited speakers
  • Arnab Banerjee (Oak Ridge)
  • Cristian Batista (Knoxville)
  • Collin Broholm (Johns Hopkins)
  • Gang Chen (Fudan)
  • Radu Coldea (Oxford)
  • Ga'bor Hala'sz (Santa Barbara)
  • Johannes Knolle (Cambridge)
  • Yuji Matsuda (kyota)
  • Emilia Morosan (Rice)
  • Yukitoshi Motome (Tokyo)
  • Martin Mourigal (Georgia Tech)
  • Frank Pollmann (Munich)
  • Jeff Rau (Dresden)
  • Judit Romha'nyi (Okinawa)
  • Nicolas Rougemaille (Grenoble)
  • Ioannis Rousochatzakis (Minnesota)
  • Lucile Savary (MIT)
  • Romain Sibille (Paul Scherrer)
  • Roser Valenti (Frankfurt)
  • Tao Xiang (Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Key Dates

  • Tutorial July 9

  • Conference July 10-14

  • Abstract submission window
    12/1/2017 - 1/31/2018
  • Early Registration
    3/1/2018 - 4/30/2018
    more information TBA
  • Housing
    Dorms $89/day includes meals
    Hotels $129/day - $161/day
    More infomation TBA